To Top

Best Vegan Sushi and Sake Options

Dining at a Japanese or sushi restaurant can be challenging, especially if you’re a vegan. Fortunately, there are some restaurants that have vegan options on their menus. To give you a better view, here are some vegan sushi and sake options you can order at a Japanese restaurant.

1. Avocado Rolls

Avocado rolls are simple yet satisfying. Plus, they are liked by vegans and non-vegans. The reason is not only due to their delicious flavor. This vegan sushi is also filled with nutrients, such as fiber and healthy fats. To prepare this sushi, avocado chunks are rolled in sticky rice, then they are wrapped in seaweed.

2. Cucumber Rolls

One of the best vegan sushi and sake options in a Japanese restaurant is a cucumber roll. Aside from their light and refreshing flavors, cucumber can also add crunch to the roll. The best part is that cucumber rolls are healthful for various reasons. For one, cucumber is one of the most popular hydrating foods. Plus, it is also packed with nutrients, including vitamin C, magnesium, and potassium.

3. Inari Sushi

Inari sushi is made with sushi rice that is stuffed in a fried tofu pouch. Aside from sushi rice, the pouch can also be stuffed with other plant-based ingredients like avocado. But, it can also be eaten on its own because it is already flavorful. Sometimes, they would add avocado and sesame seeds to the recipe to make the sushi crunchy, nutritious, and flavorful. Best of all, inari sushi pairs well with several vegan-friendly drinks.

4. Muroka

Traditionally, the production of sake doesn’t use animal products. However, breweries will usually filter it with charcoal, then use animal-based gelatin to remove the charcoal.

The good news is that only a few breweries use gelatin to filter the charcoal contents of sake. Additionally, some breweries don’t use charcoal to filter sake. Typically, a sake that is classed as muroka doesn’t use charcoal. As such, it is vegan-friendly because gelatin was not used to remove the charcoal.

In terms of grades, junmai sake, junmai ginjo, and junmai daiginjo may be suitable for vegans because they are made with water, rice, and koji. However, you have to make sure that their filtering process doesn’t use animal-based gelatin.

Final Thoughts

As presented, there are several vegan sushi and sake options you can choose when dining at a Japanese or sushi restaurant. Because of these options, you can enjoy now enjoy the flavor of Japanese cuisine without consuming any animal products.


Which MCT Oil is Best for Weight Loss?

  • Save

More in Food

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap