To Top

Ghee: Is it Vegan?

Ghee may not have lactose, but it’s definitely not vegan

In recent years, ghee has gained popularity in the United States in the place of cooking oils because of its high smoke point and perceived health benefits. But despite its lack of lactose, it’s still a dairy-derivative, and essentially liquid butter often used in Indian dishes.

How is Ghee Made?

Ghee is derived from butter, so it contains milk solids, butterfat, and moisture. When regular butter is heated, the moisture evaporates, and the milk solids separate. The process of making ghee gets rid of the lactose and leaves behind pure butter oil. It is composed almost entirely of fat.

Ghee is generally made from cow’s milk and is considered an animal-derived product. If you’re vegan, be sure to mention that you don’t eat ghee when ordering Indian food as it is commonly added to rotis and other dishes. However, there are vegan versions available, made from vegetable oils. Keep in mind, these versions may still be high in trans-fat. When purchasing this, vegans should carefully check the label to make sure that the product doesn’t contain any non-vegan secondary ingredients.


Let Us Teach You Exactly How to Cook Tofu

  • Save

Miso Smoked Tofu at Bottle + Kitchen

  • Save

More in Food

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap